anyone make homemade laundry soap?

This topic contains 129 replies, has 38 voices, and was last updated by  ReadyMom 1 year ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 130 total)
  • Author

victoria

I was just wondering if anyone makes their own laundry soap? I’ve been doing it for a few years and I think it works good and it’s cheap to make. Anyone need the recipe?

ponymama44

yes – please. i am allergic to a lot of the commercial stuff. I would love to make my own.

mmpaints
    Participant

Well yah, please share. anything I can do that will make me more self sustained

kymber

this isn’t make your own soap but it IS how to do your laundry on the cheap – this is a post that Humble Wife (New Mexico Preppers Network) did for the CPN – have a glance – it’s a post that’s well worth the read:

http://yukonterritorypreppersnetwork.blogspot.com/2009/04/some-prep-tips-from-southwest.html” onclick=”window.open(this.href);return false

D_Loki
    Participant

Here is a pair of soap making primers. I will try and find the pages with the laundry soap instructions.

D_Loki

http://hotfile.com/dl/22816461/442246d/How_To_Make_Soap.pdf.html

http://hotfile.com/dl/22816890/79baf2f/Palahniuk_Chuck_-_Survival_-_Homemade_Soap.txt.html

kymber

thanks D_Loki – we appreciate it!

victoria

This is what I use.
    1 bar Fels Naptha (it’s like a bar of soap for laundry, but has many other uses)
    1 c. Borax (20 mule team)
    1 c. washing soda (make sure it is washing soda and not baking soda)
    grate the bar of Fels Naptha with an old cheese grater
    put them in a pot and add 3 pints of water ,cook on low until all soap has melted and add the borax and washing soda and stir until dissolved. Pour this mixture into a clean 5 gallon bucket and add hot water up to about a little over 3/4 of a bucket ful and let sit over night.
    Use 1/4-1/2 c. per load.
    A few things:
    You can make this a liquid by adding more water.( I don’t because it takes too many containers)