Prepping While Broke

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  mcfamily 6 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

mcfamily

I’m new at this myself, so I definitely don’t claim to have all of the answers, but I do have a couple suggestions for other broke preppers! Keep in mind, these are just suggestions from my own personal experience and everyone’s situation is different.

1. Become acquainted with coupons if you haven’t already. I devote $25-$50 each month (depending on how our finances are) to couponing. With that money I buy 2-4 newspapers each Sunday (depending on how good the coupon inserts are), and everything that I can get throughout the month for a steal. By combining sales or clearance items with coupons, I have been able to stock up on (at least) a year supply of all hygiene products from shampoo to tooth paste to deodorant, a good amount of seasoning packets and gravy mixes, feminine products, a very well stocked medical kit (from butterfly closures to braces to cough drops and everything in between!), and more! All for just pennies on the dollar of what it retails for. (That’s not an exaggeration, either.)

2. Thrift stores are underrated. Whether you need materials to try a new DIY project, clothes that you can get dirty in and not have to worry about, or odds and ends for your home – thrift shops should always be the first place you look! One thing to keep in mind with this though – it’s always hit or miss. Because thrift shops are filled solely with donated items, you never know what you’re going to find and the saying, “Here one day, gone another” DEFINITELY applies. If you see it and need it – grab it before someone else does! I have seen everything from canning supplies to food processors to radios all for a price that could be considered a steal.