Truth About Gangs

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

This was part of another thread which carried on more about politics and stats. I wanted to touch on gangs a bit and get some info out pertaining to their relevence to preppers. I have a lot of training and experience working with them in a functioning society. The dangers these folks pose to others during societal breakdown would be tremendously greater, especially to preppers. Many misconceptions are out there and the public is generally misinformed about how they function. I’ll answer any questions that I can that aren’t addressed.

Gangs are a direct product of poverty. Any student of criminal justice will tell you this is a fact that can be traced back to early Irish and Italian street gangs during the great immigration boom of early New York. These folks were stuck in low paying jobs and couldn’t afford to feed their families. So they banned together out of necessity to take what they needed from society to get by. As time wore on, some continued to organize into larger mafias which prospered financially. But the same necessity arising out of poverty continued for folks into modern times as well. Generations of families stayed poor and dependent on government assistance. This continues to give rise to local street gangs. These are the ones that you see in the news everyday while they sell drugs, shoot at each other, rob, rape, and murder us.