water in stored gas

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

So, I store gasoline in a, uh, few :innocent: 5 gallon Blitz gas cans, with , uh, appropriate :innocent: caps. What I do is place a double dose of Stabil in the can and fill it up. I write the date that I filled it on a piece of duct tape and wrap it around the handle. I have used gas that I have stored like this that was about 18 months old, but I try and cycle it out so that nothing is more than a year (preferably 6 months) old. Around December or so I start filling up my car from this gas stash, refilling the cans as I go, until everything is fresh. I keep these cans in the shed in the back yard…perhaps not the safest of set ups, but the best that I can do under my present circumstances. I have been doing this for about seven years without a problem…until recently.

About two weeks ago we had some Noah-go-get-your-Skil-saw-and-hammer-like rain that flooded my neighborhood. Somebody went down our street in a kayak. Fortunately, no water got into our house. Unfortunately, about a foot of water got into my shed. Normally, I keep my Blitz cans off the floor sitting on shelving…however, I had recently moved them around to make it easier to rotate them and two of the cans were sitting on the floor. When I got home after the flood I found these two cans lying on their sides, on the floor of my shed. One even had its cap cracked. My shed now smells like dead dinosaur.