• Advertisement

5 gallon bucket or larger tote?

Welcome to the forum! Introduce Yourself Here.

Moderators: ReadyMom, mmpaints

5 gallon bucket or larger tote?

Postby jeffsilver777 » Sat Feb 11, 2017 8:12 pm

I admit that I am new to being a Prepper, and wanted to get guidance from the experts out there. I sealed dry foods [rice, beans, etc] in mylar bags with an oxygen absorber in each bag. Small mylar bags. Maybe about 3lbs. of food in each one.

Is it OK to just store these mylar bags neatly in a rubber maid tote with a secure lid? Or do I really need to use a bucket with a gasket sealed lid? Just curious because the mylar bags are fully sealed.

Thank you for your guidance up front!

Jeff
jeffsilver777

Re: 5 gallon bucket or larger tote?

Postby rebnavy1862 » Sat Feb 11, 2017 9:52 pm

It is possible for mice or other rodents to chew into rubber maid totes. Also, insects can get into the space between the lid and lower part.
Reb
rebnavy1862
Virginia Preppers Network
Virginia Preppers Network

Postby watcher » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:13 pm

what are you packing in it, how much will it weigh full and how much can you lift?
watcher
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Postby jean11 » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:54 pm

Jeff, I use mylar in 5 gallon buckets with a snap on type lid (Home Depot) and have been happy with that. But I think your method is fine too.
jean11

Postby donba » Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:35 am

We store a lot of Dried food in 1/2 gallon ball jars. Beans, rice, and dehydrated, then suck the air out after putting in an oxygen eating packet. You can store sugar and salt this way also. We are in our 70s and don't really plan on bugging out.......
donba

Postby Cast Iron » Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:25 am

I had a red squirrel determined to gnaw through a five gallon bucket lid to get to the bird seed in there. I found it in time, but he sure did wreck that lid.

Later, I wrecked him with a hollow point pellet to the head.
Cast Iron

Postby rickdun » Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:35 am