• Advertisement
New Forum Rules
Please Read

WHY Prepare?

The basics to getting started on your journey to preparedness.

Moderator: ReadyMom

WHY Prepare?

Postby ReadyMom » Sun May 30, 2010 4:12 pm

Greetings!
Preparation for emergencies is preparing for ANYTHING that can affect the NORMAL ROUTINE in your DAILY LIFE. I have been promoting emergency home preparation for the past several years and have attended many national Emergency Management conferences. This is not a concern due to 'Paranoia aka a "paranoid power trip"', 'Christian Hype', 'Extremism' and a sundry of other excuses that many have often referred to. Emergency Managers and Emergency agencies are aware of the many situations that families can find them selves from something as 'simple' as a loss of jobs to an extreme situation from weather, disaster or terrorism. The scale of emergencies is wide.

The people who refer to themselves as 'Preppers' have looked at current world and weather events, evaluated the risk at hand (given our 'just in time' supply for daily goods and taken the advice of the agencies to prepared.

Preparation can be as simple as 2-weeks of supplies in hand (IN ADDITION to what is currently in your household) or you can prepare for the extended lengths of time that others have mentioned in these posts. Preparation should be what you can afford and what you feel comfortable with, knowing that what preparations you HAVE made can only help your family, when you find yourself in need.