• Advertisement

Inventory/Organization

Got a Question? Ask The Survival Mom!

Inventory/Organization

Postby Ship-Wreck » Fri Mar 16, 2012 11:20 am

I am new to prepping, and my stockpile is rather small so far, but regardless, I am running into organization problems. I know to rotate through the pile to put the oldest ones first and whatnot, but I am more having a different problem. Because of my bipolar disorder, it really helps me to have structure and lists. So I have started taking inventory of what I have. However. I am not sure how to really tell how many meals I have for my family. (Do I go by serving size on the back of the food, or what?)

Also, How do I keep track of the food on the list? I find that the list is really cluttered and I have to read through the whole list to see if I have something. So should I split my list up my full meals? Should I split it in accordance to the food pyramid? Maybe alphabetical? Or perhaps by nutritional value?

Making a list will also tell me what I still need to get, so this is pretty important to my future prep shopping :3 Any help and advice would be appreciated. :help:
Normality is Overrated
Ship-Wreck

Re: Inventory/Organization

Postby Southwind » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:23 pm

I would suggest using an Excel spreadsheet, if you can use Excel. You can group the foods a couple of different ways. If it is easier to alphabetize, that is one way. Another way is to group them you would find them grouped on a shopping list.
How do you have your food stored? I'm a librarian, so I have devised my own system w/regards to where I put the cans on the shelves (don't ask lol)
Southwind
Georgia Preppers Network
Georgia Preppers Network

Postby mingler32 » Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:39 pm