• Advertisement
New Forum Rules
Please Read

!!!HELP: NEWBIE PREPPER GUN HELP!!!

Topics about guns

!!!HELP: NEWBIE PREPPER GUN HELP!!!

Postby Gdsvus » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:04 pm

Hello all! I just joined the forum and I'm excited to be here. I've got some worries that are laying heavily on my mind, and I hope that somebody can help me out.

Some background: You can read this or skip to the following paragraph and start at gun or no gun.
I am a graduate student. I just got finished with undergrad and will start grad school in a few weeks. Due to a combination of being a military brat, and having gone through ten years of tragedy, strife and pain, now that I'm on my own, I'm looking to sustain myself in a world that is increasingly threatening to plunge me back into a state of tragedy, strife and pain. With my small salary and tiny bit of space, I'm looking to start up some modest preps that will keep me fed, sheltered and content (due to the past ten years of turmoil, I have a very low contentment threshold, safety and warmth is all this gal really needs!). I'm focusing on food and water right now--the katadyn combi filter being in my prepping crosshairs as of now. But there is one prep that has got me all tied up in knots and I don't know where to turn.

I have two options for my preps.

Gun or no gun.

Before you say that "no gun" is out of the question hear me out as I have some factors that weigh against my gun ownership:
I am a grad student, I make money, but not much. Saving up I can maybe afford a gun one day and ammo down the road, a small safe further down the road from there.
I rent--not an apartment--but a room in an apartment. This has two factors associated with it:
No room. I don't even have a real bed to store stuff under, where am I going to hide a gun? I figure my closet, but that seems a little too out in the open...