• Advertisement

BUILDING WITH STONE, LOGS AND TIMBERS

Ask Carborendum for tips on construction and building projects here

Moderator: Carborendum

BUILDING WITH STONE, LOGS AND TIMBERS

Postby Lifelong Survivalist » Wed Jul 20, 2016 11:52 am

This can be a very low cost way to build on a retreat property or bug out location where there is an abundance of suitable timber and stone nearby (totally off grid). It is a topic that I have plenty of knowledge, skill and experience in. :) I must make one thing very clear....It is very labor intensive and takes more time to do than more modern construction methods using conventional materials. :) Most often the materials are quite heavy, so the more people working on a project the easier is to do. The more tools and old fashioned devices one has the easier it becomes also. :shakeyes: Power tools are helpful also but one should have all of the old fashioned ones as back ups. Before attempting to get started on a project it would be a good idea to invest in some very comprehensive hardbound paper books on log construction, masonry, and building with squared timbers. :) Next, start gathering and purchasing the necessary tools to be used. :) These will be your major investments after the land has been acquired. I hope there are other Preppers out there who can contribute to this Topic who have real life personal experience and knowledge to share without just posting websites and click-on links, or how to referrals. :shakeno: If you have "been there, done this" your posts and replies are very welcome. :D And if you have not, well....not so much so :thumbdown: . :-) Lifelong
UNITED WE STAND, DIVIDED WE FALL :-)
Lifelong Survivalist

Re: BUILDING WITH STONE, LOGS AND TIMBERS

Postby Grizbrb » Thu Jul 21, 2016 11:23 am