• Advertisement

What do to when the woman is the man in the family?

For all the lady preppers out there

Moderators: mmpaints, medic94

What do to when the woman is the man in the family?

Postby Bilbo » Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:19 pm

Lord help me.

I'm not sure where to post this, but figured I'd try it on the ladies board.

I am new to this prepper way of thinking, but I'm picking it up quickly.

The boyfriend is mostly on board, except for the whole gun thing. I thought he liked the idea, but when I purchased a 22 caliber semi-automatic pistol the other day (as the first of more guns to come) he pretty much freaked out and didn't talk to me for a day and a half. Today he asked if I'd be willing to trade it in for a taser. I told him no...that it would be hard to taser a squirrel to feed my meat-eating friends. (Of which he is one, though I am vegan.)

I understand that this way of behaving is very new to him, and it's not part of how he has known me to behave in the past. So the change is on me, but still...I am making very rational decisions and plans, and in theory, he agrees with them. He also feels insecurity about the future, he complains about the government, blah blah blah...but like most people, he hasn't given any thought about how to get through any sort of disaster. He doesn't even have a days worth of food in his house. I kid you not, he eats every. single. meal. out. His first aid supplies at home are limited to a package of band aids and a bottle of expired ibuprofen. He doesn't even own a freaking thermometer, for gods sake. He doesn't carry cash...at all. I've never known anyone so woefully unprepared for even the slightest disruption. Though he does own some nice warm clothes and he has cut firewood for me in the past, so I know he can do that.

Anyway, because of the fact that I have the time and resources right now to devote to prepping, I am picking up steam. I feel like I have to make up for lost time.