• Advertisement

Buying water filter... which one?

Discussions about water storage, filtration, purification and procurement

Buying water filter... which one?

Postby Cool Cat22 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:06 am

Hello, I'm going to buy a water filter for prepping and daily use... I'm going to college and the water that comes out of the tap is not the best. I'm probably going to get a Travel Berkey. I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with them? I'm also thinking about buying a life straw incase I need to bug out on foot.

I'm relatively new at preparing, and I'm wondering if those are good buys. :?

Thanks!
Cool Cat22

Re: Buying water filter... which one?

Postby Gunns » Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:17 am

A lot of people on here are Berkey fans. I am not. I bought two, both were faulty and did not filter. If I had relied on them for my life they would have killed me.

I ended up building my own. I built two sets using 5 gallon food grade buckets and buying a cermic silver charcoal filter system. Built them, tested them, cleaned them up and stored them.

I am also a big fan of Water Savers and can't say enough about Sawyer.

http://www.amazon.com/Emergency-Silver- ... B008NP27M8
Gunns
Texas Preppers Network
Texas Preppers Network

Postby divers351 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:29 pm

I have the Katadyn Gravidyn system. Seems to be working well for 6 months...stay on my counter. Although, since I have never run anything but tap water in it AND I have never had it tested....I will not misrepresent that it actually works :) I know for sure it removes the taste and slight CL odor from my Florida tapwater.
divers351

Postby Cool Cat22 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:35 pm