• Advertisement

Oxygen absorbers vs chamber vacuuming.

Vacuum Sealer discussions

Oxygen absorbers vs chamber vacuuming.

Postby FiatCurrency_1913 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:30 pm

Dear people,

I'm only a novice when it comes to prepping, but I noticed almost all of you use oxygen absorbers with mylar bags (or mason jars with a vacuum mouth device) to store dry foods. I happend to have a professional chamber vacuum machine and when I vacuum dry foods, like rice, wheat or beans in mylar bags, it becomes hard like a rock and you can reach up to 99.8% vacuum inside the mylar bag. My question is: does this also happen with oxygen absorbers added to a nearly sealed mylar bag? Or is the achieved vacuum much less this way? Thx!
FiatCurrency_1913

Re: Oxygen absorbers vs chamber vacuuming.

Postby catfeet » Sun Nov 27, 2016 3:51 pm

O2 absorbers work by absorbing the available oxygen in the vessel and changing its chemical state. They do not create a true vacuum as they do not absorb co2 or nitrogen, let alone any of the other trace gasses.

If you have the equipment to create a true vacuum and also seal the vessel, go for it. I'd test drive it, though, and make sure it will last as long as you are expecting it to. Alternately, test check thru your stored items on a yearly basis, as doing a 20 or 30 year test would be impractical.
catfeet
Vermont Preppers Network
Vermont Preppers Network

Postby donba » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:32 pm

We don't store wheat but have some flower and corn in 1/2 gallon jars, Frozen for 48 hours, vacuumed, and an o2 absorbers in each. We check a jar each year so far OK. I think preps need to be checked on a regular bases, like I charge all my batteries every Jan. As the boss lady tells me go for it,it keeps you out of the bars….
donba

Postby Murby » Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:46 pm

FiatCurrency_1913 wrote:Dear people,