Estate Planning

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    okie B

In the spirit of this board, I’ve been trying to think of what I could do, or write-up, that might contribute to helping people become more self-reliant here (besides gracing you all with my amazing wit and charming personality ). Kinda hard since I’m a relative newb compared to so many of the wonderful people on here who so very graciously share their knowledge and experience. But there is some advice I might be able to give…hesitantly…with reservations…

Confession time first…Okie B is a lawyer.

Gasp! Groan. I’ll give you a moment to contain your horror. As you take the time to compose yourself, let’s pass the interlude with some entertainment. What do you call a thousand lawyers at the bottom of the ocean? A good start.

Moving right along…

As a lawyer, I am only licensed to practice law in Oklahoma, but I can pass along some general legal information to everyone. And if anyone sends me a legal question, I can already tell you that the answer 99.9% of the time will be “It depends.” If you have a question, you are better off asking a local attorney for advice than asking me because the law that applies can be vastly different depending upon where you are at.

Having said all of that, I want to bring up a particular point of interest that everyone should include in their prepping – estate planning. This could be as simple as making out a will, or as convoluted as, well , your worst nightmare. The point is that as long as you are still alive, the power is in YOUR hands to decide how it’s going to go for your loved ones.