New to Canning-Newbie Questions & Concerns

Welcome to APN! Forums Survival, Preparedness, and Sustainability Food & Water Canning General Canning Topics New to Canning-Newbie Questions & Concerns

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hey ya’ll

I’m pretty new to canning, and I just got done canning about 15 lbs of potatoes. (i went ahead full bore and got a pressure canner). I really just have one question so far…

after they are done and come out of the canner, there is less water in each jar than when I started (obviously) but my question is, should I be worried about the potaoes that are not always covered by water or not since it is under a vacuum?

The 7 pints I did a week ago seem to be holding up just fine.

Thanks!

• This topic was modified 1 year, 10 months ago by ReadyMom.
    • This topic was modified 1 year, 10 months ago by ReadyMom.
    upinak

Okay.

I have both kinds of canning equipment. I have a canner for veggies and now a pressurized one.

Here is my probably dumb/ignorant question. Can I can veggies and other items in the pressurized canner and if I can, which are the best to can?

Books only tell you so much and the reason I would rather ask then go off a couple books that seem not to say the same thing.

juju_mommy

Hi all. Ok. I did it. I broke out the canner today. I got my first batch done and I have some questions 😕 and could really use some guidance/reassurance.

I have an All-American (no gasket, metal to metal seal) pressure canner that I used for the first time today to can 7 quarts of green beans.

1) The canner weighted gage never “wiggled” or “jiggled”. It hissed and spit throughout the canning session. Some water/condensation came out at the weight but no wiggling or jiggling. The pressure gage read 10lbs (the whole time I was timing) so as long as the pressure gage read 10lbs is it ok that the weighted one never moved around?